Make It With A Fireman....

Hi ya'll!  Long time, no postie!  :)


So this morning I was sipping my coffee while browsing my Facebook wall, when someone posted a YouTube video. Before the video started, this commercial came one, and then I totally forgot what the hell I came to YouTube for.

I am not trying to endorse Sauza Tequila by posting this here. I am trying to endorse firemen... and kittens!!!



After about 1:08, I didn't hear a damn thing he said. Did you ladies? LOL!

In fact, it took me watching this a good five or so times before I could hear all that he was saying.  He has one of those voices (similar to my husband's, but I am mostly used to his by now) that mesmerizes you.

Enjoy!

Book Smashing... Smash Booking.... Hubba Wha?

So I found this video the other day...



...and it got me thinking a bit.

Have any of you got into the craft of smashing yet? It kind of looks like scrapbooking but on a much more personal scale.

Then I started to realize something about myself. I have a fabric, sewing and craft "smash" book that i have been keeping all my ideas in and never knew there was a term for it. Maybe the name is new and the concept is old, IDK. I also wondered what made a smash book (from a kit like in the video or not) different from just keeping a hard covered art book, a very nice ink pen, and a glue stick? Maybe it is for people who want the kitschy pre-made design kit? I mean, the kit is cute (although I'd like to hope the books don't have the same patterned pages in them because I really didn't like some of the designs inside) but I kind of wonder if I am just better off getting myself a new black hard-covered art book and smash it myself? ;-)

Anyway, was curious to know what you all thought of this trend... if it is one.

Slushy Magic & Pawggles??!?

Ok, so I was not the ideal mother this morning as I tried to get my kiddo to sit down and have a good breakfast while I rushed around the house, getting my own self ready to take her to school. I plopped her down in front of the tv with her bowl of cereal, something I usually reserve to do on weekends or during vacation from school. Today, of all days, she asked to watch a non-educational channel that had station breaks and regular commercials (which for our family, is extremely uncommon for us to watch anymore since we have almost completely sworn off regular television as well as cable all together). I figured "just this once" and BAM! two commercials for things that made me stop dead in my tracks and make me wonder how many people are actually buying to these gimmicks and why haven't I thought of the next million dollar get rich quick as seen on tv product.

Those two commercials were for Slushy Magic and Pawggles.

For those of you who haven't seen the commercial for Slushy Magic, feast your eyes on their website since they have a video of their commercial right there. Now really, what makes this product so damn magical? Has any of you tried it yet? All I can see from the commercial and photos on their site is it a couple of plastic-y reusable ice cubes and a long tupperware cylinder (I am not even going to get into the "magic spoon straw" part). Am I wrong? I am sorely tempted to go to BB&B and buy a few reusable ice cubes (since I already have the cylinder container) and see if my ("magical") science experiment will work just as good, if not better than spending $19.99 for two of these. Heck, I am sure 7-11 won't mind if I take a couple extra "magical spoon straws" on my next trip. ;-P

The other product is Pawggles. They are (I am guessing from watching the commercial a couple of times now) half plushy doll, half slipper and the bottom half POPS open to slip your foot in. Wow. Really? For $19.99? Maybe if the pet designs looked a little more appealing and if I was able to touch them for quality control, but I've seen much better looking slippers for about the same price that are lots of fun like the white tiger slipper feet my daughter got as a present after we took a trip to Busch Gardens in Tampa.



So after those two commercials, I got reminded (once again) why I am looking forward to dropping our cable all together. :-/